Seven Maroons Named to 2017-18 NABC Honors Court

Seven Maroons Named to 2017-18 NABC Honors Court

NABC Honors Court

CHICAGO – Seven members of the University of Chicago men's basketball team were selected to the 2017-18 NABC Honors Court by the National Association of Basketball Coaches on Tuesday.

The NABC Honors Court recognizes men's collegiate basketball student-athletes who excel in the class room. To qualify, honorees must meet the following criteria:

  1. Academically a junior or senior and a varsity player
  2. Cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.2 or higher at the conclusion of the 2017-18 academic year
  3. Students must have matriculated at least one year at their current institution
  4. Member of a NCAA Division I, II, III, or NAIA Division I or II institution with a NABC member coach

The seven Maroons on the list included:

  • Collin Barthel (Sr.) – Economics
  • Jake Fenlon (Sr.) – Economics
  • Ryan Shearmire (Sr.) – Economics
  • Porter Veach (Sr.) – Economics
  • Justin Jackson (Jr.) – English
  • Max Jacobs (Jr.) – Economics/Political Science
  • Ryan Jacobsen (Jr.) – Economics