Kurtenbach Selected to Google Cloud Academic All-District Track/Cross Country Team

Khia Kurtenbach
Khia Kurtenbach

2017-18 Google Cloud Academic All-District Track/Cross Country Teams

CHICAGO – University of Chicago senior Khia Kurtenbach earned Google Cloud Academic All-District® Women's Track/Cross Country honors, selected by CoSIDA, for the second-straight season as announced Tuesday.

Kurtenbach wrapped a glittering career for the Maroons with last weekend's NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships. The senior distance runner competed in both the 10,000 and the 5,000 meters, just missing out on All-American honors with her ninth-place finish in the 5,000.

The senior from Germantown, Wis., became just the second NCAA Champion in UChicago cross-country history back in November, stunning the 279-runner field with her first-place finish. In turn, she was named the 2017 U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCA) Women's Cross Country National Athlete of the Year in addition to the organization's Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

A molecular engineering major, Kurtenbach became the first UChicago student-athlete to earn the USTFCCA's highest academic honor.

Other notable accomplishments in Kurtenbach's senior cross country season included her second-straight Midwest Regional crown and University Athletic Association championship.

On the track, Kurtenbach set a new UAA Championship meet record in the outdoor 10,000 meters and wrapped up her career as a five-time All-American (3,000 and 5,000 meters).

A third-team CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2017, Kurtenbach now qualifies for 2018 All-American voting. The Google Cloud Academic All-American teams will be announced June 19.

The 2017-18 Google Cloud Academic All-District® Women's Track/Cross Country Team, selected by CoSIDA, recognizes the nation's top student-athletes for their combined performances on the playing field and in the classroom. Student-athletes must maintain a 3.30 grade point average, be of sophomore standing or higher, and have attended their current institutions for at least one year to be eligible.